Hello world!

So, what exactly do I have to say to the world?  I have no idea.  I will start by introducing myself. 

I am a former elementary school teacher who became frustrated by the politics of it all.  However, I simply couldn’t leave education–I wholeheartedly believe in education…so I decided I should pursue a Ph.D. in early childhood education.  I’m currently working on my Ph.D., and I’m about a year away from beginning my dissertation.  What is my goal after Ph.D.?  That is a good question!  “Be the change you wish to see in this world”, Gandhi.  I guess that’s my goal–I hope to help change education for the better. 

Teaching, working on my master’s degree, and Ph.D. work has taken its toll on me, physically.  Teaching caused a lot of stress eating, which caused a lot of weight gain.  Working on my master’s degree, and now Ph.D. required/requires a lot of time sitting in front of my computer–drastically reducing the amount of time I spent/spend being active.  So basically:  stress eating + lack of physical activity = weight gain. 

I hope to use this blog for several things:  1. a journal documenting my journey toward a more healthy lifestyle  2.  a tool to help keep me accountable to the lifestyle changes I make  3.  a place to share the strange and peculiar events that happen so often in graduate school  4.  an outlet for complaining, crying, whining, and feeling sorry for myself  5.  a place to celebrate, brag, and be proud of my accomplishments (FYI…I expect more complaining, crying, whining, and self-pity than celebrating, bragging, and proud moments).

Ok, so I’m going to set my first goal (drumroll)…tomorrow, I am drinking water, and only water.  I know, I know, it’s not much, but I have to start somewhere, and I’ve always heard it’s best to start small with attainable goals.  So…will I be successful with my first goal???  I guess you’ll just have to wait and see tomorrow.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

