Pork Rinds & Patience

I’ve officially reached the point in my weight loss where I’m just ready to be at my goal already; although, I still have a way to go before I’m at my goal.  Typically when I reach this point I begin thinking, “Hmmmmm, so if I cheat a bit it will be ok”, and of course I cheat to the point that I’m no longer dieting anymore.  HOWEVER, I am committed to my goal, and will not be seduced by chocolate cake, garlic bread, pasta, or a peach cobbler!

I woke up this morning dreading the task before me.  I usually spend a good chunk of my Sunday preparing snacks and meals for the upcoming week.  My food processor and dishwasher work overtime on Sundays.  Today, however, I was NOT in the mood to spend the day chopping, mixing, sauteing, and cleaning my kitchen up once again.  As I sat at the dining room table eating hot dogs (no buns) with my husband, he reminded me that when I reach my goal I will be so happy that I persevered.  Knowing he’s right, I slowly, reluctantly made my way to the kitchen and started the familiar process.  I got out the food processor, cans of chicken, celery, onion, and mayonnaise, and began washing, chopping, and mixing chicken salad for this week’s lunches.  Next I unwrapped a pound of hot Tennessee Pride sausage, mixed in a few cups of shredded sharp cheddar, a tablespoon or so of Worcestershire sauce, and proceeded rolling sausage balls.  After bagging up 30 or so sausage balls, I grabbed a dozen eggs from the fridge to boil.  In the midst of washing, chopping, rolling, and boiling I began to wonder, WHY isn’t there any quick snacks available at the store for those of us living a low carb lifestyle?  Sure there’s a lot of “sugar-free” items available at the grocery store, but often sugar-free items are not low carb.  So if I’m at the store and want to grab a “quick snack” my only option is a bag of PORK RINDS!!!  I will tell you right now, ONE CAN EAT ONLY SO MANY PORK RINDS, and I’m pretty sure I’ve reached my lifetime limit!!!  I’ve eaten the BBQ flavor, hot ‘n’ spicy flavor, I’ve tried them with salsa, ranch dressing, blue cheese dressing, and cheese dip–I am officially sick and tired of pork rinds.  So, if I want a snack I have to make it–there are no quick fixes for me (at least one’s I can stomach).  Therefore, it seems, I must accept that just as I must be patient in order to reach my weight loss goal, I must also patiently accept the fact that Sunday afternoons will be spent preparing food for the week.  Otherwise I will be stuck with a week of the alternative–PORK RINDS! 😛

Leave a Reply

