Happy Thanksgiving 2012

I love Thanksgiving! When I was growing up, Thanksgiving meant waking up early to watch the Macy’s Parade, going to my grandparents’ house for lunch, then coming home in the evening to begin adorning our house for Christmas. I’m all grown up now, and Thanksgiving traditions have changed, but I still love Thanksgiving.

One of my favorite pastimes is, and has always been, cooking. At the age of 13, I subscribed to Martha Stewart Living. At 15 years old, my homemade blueberry pie won 1st place in a local bake-off. I have always enjoyed cooking! My love for cooking really comes alive during the holiday season (between Thanksgiving & New Year’s Day). My previous self (before low carb) perfected sugar-laden treats and high carb delectables for my friends, family, & myself. I was the queen of brown sugar, confectioner’s sugar, granulated sugar, colored sugar crystals…pretty much any kind of sugar. However, when I made the decision to go low carb, all that changed.

I thought my first low carb holiday season would be quite depressing; almost as if I was in mourning, missing those high carb holiday staples. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks to the power of the World Wide Web, I was able to find plenty of low carb, full flavor substitutes to fill my table. Last year was my first low carb holiday season & it was fabulously successful.

As we enter the holiday season, once again, I find myself terribly excited to get in the kitchen & begin whipping up low carb delicacies. People are always asking about recipes & tips to help get them started in the low carb lifestyle; so, I’ve decided to post favorite recipes to this blog.

Tune in tomorrow for my latest favorite holiday treat–Apple Pie Bread. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

