Apple Pie Bread

One thing I’ve learned over the past 18 months is that low carb food is NOT bland! I’ve learned tricks to turn my favorite recipes & new recipes into low carb goodies, appropriate for my new low carb lifestyle.

About a week ago, I was perusing the Winter 2012-2013 edition of Home & Farm magazine & came across a recipe that sounded simply divine — Apple Pie Bread! After glancing at the ingredients, I decided I would try ‘low carbifying’ the bread for Thanksgiving.

The outcome of my low carb version of Apple Pie Bread was absolutely AMAZING, and satisfied the most difficult critic, my Hubby, Terry. No need to wait any longer…the ‘low carbified’ Apple Pie Bread recipe is below:

‘Low Carbified’ Apple Pie Bread Recipe:

1/2 c butter
1 c Splenda
1/2 c heavy cream (soured w/ 1 tsp of vinegar)
4 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 c almond flour (I process my own from natural almonds in my food processor
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 c shreaded peeled apples (I used my food processor)
1 c chopped pecans (optional)

Topping:
1/2 c Splenda Brown Sugar Blend
1 tsp cinnamon
3 Tablespoons almond flour
2 Tablespoons butter
1/2 c chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray & set aside. In the food processor, beat butter until smooth. Add Splenda & process until combined. Add heavy cream & baking powder, process until combined. Add vanilla and eggs; process until combined. Add almond flour & salt; process until combined. Stir in apples & nuts. Pour batter into the loaf pan & spread evenly.
To make the topping:
combine Splenda Brown Sugar Blend with almond flour in a small bowl. Cut in butter until mixture resembles course crumbs. Stir in nuts. Sprinkle topping over batter. Bake 1 hour (or until toothpick comes out clean). Cool in pan/wire rack for 10 min. Remove from pan. Cool completely. Wrap & store overnight before slicing.

I didn’t think to take a picture of this delicacy until is was all gone. Next timeΒ I make this dessert, I will post a picture. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

