My Breakfast This Morning

Happy Saturday Morning!!! My former self (before low carb & 150+ pounds heavier) LOVED making breakfast on Saturday mornings. Many Saturday morning breakfasts consisted of good ole buttermilk biscuits, brown breakfast gravy (you probably have to be from the south to understand the significance of the brown breakfast gravy), grits (again, southerners will understand the importance of that breakfast staple), fried apples with brown sugar & cinnamon, fried eggs, & bacon. Or, my Saturday breakfast feast would be a huge stack of thick, fluffy, large enough to cover the entire plate, buttermilk pancakes, sweeeeeeeet maple syrup, & sausage patties. Typically after breakfast I had enough energy to make my way to the couch & nap (remember, it was still morning & I just got out of bed about an hour before eating breakfast). Those high carb breakfast choices were killing my energy! I was lethargic all day & completely unproductive. I was doing so much damage to my body–weight gain, spiking my insulin levels, creating imbalance in my endocrine system, etc, etc, etc). Today, I am angry at myself for those years of destructive food choices. I wish I could go back in time & make good choices; but since that’s not possible, I am making it up to myself now. πŸ™‚

It’s Saturday morning, & just because I’m low carb doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy a fabulous breakfast. This morning I decided to make a breakfast burrito. Eggs, bacon, cheese, & low carb wraps are all you need to make this delicious & filling creation. Here’s a picture of this morning’s breakfast:

20121201-123824.jpg
Here’s a close-up (you can see the ooey-gooey melting cheese –YUMMMM):

20121201-124029.jpg
Here’s how I make my breakfast burritos:

You need
2 eggs
2 pieces of bacon
2 pieces of American cheese
1 low carb wrap

Cook the bacon to your preference (I like it crispy). Wisk the eggs in a bowl then pour in a pan with a small pat of butter (real butter, not margarine). Place the cheese on the wrap (cover most of the wrap with cheese). When the eggs are cooked, remove from the pan. Wipe out the pan, place the wrap in the pan, cheese side up. Place eggs on top of the cheese, & warm the wrap until the cheese begins to melt. Remove from the pan & place on a plate. Add the bacon, then roll everything up. I cut the burrito in half to make it easier to eat. DELICIOUS!!!

After breakfast, I’m energized & ready to tackle my Saturday–so very different from those days of carb-laden breakfasts.

I hope you have a WONDERFUL WEEKEND!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

