Sausage Balls

***I have updated this recipe at my new self-hosted site! Please click HEREย for my new, improved Low Carb Sausage Ball recipe! Be sure to visit my self-hosted site at www.becomingdrlah.com for LOTS of wonderfully delicious low carb recipes for all occasions!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

‘Tis the season of parties, gatherings, get-togethers, luncheons–you get the picture. December is a very ‘social’ month, to say the least. December can be a difficult time for those of us living low carb lifestyle. Last year was my first low carb Christmas, & I learned some tricks to help me fight the high carb temptations readily available all month long.

Firstly, I ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS take a low carb dish to any & all parties. This way I know I will have something ‘safe’ to eat. I usually take a savory dish & sweet dessert. I’ve found that people will not recognize your food as low carb, unless you share your little secret with them. Having low carb options available will reduce the likelihood of cheating.

Secondly, always make sure you take foods you want to eat! If I feel like my food choices are bland/boring I am more likely to begin craving other options available at parties…and, unfortunately, those options are probably NOT low carb. So, take dishes that you can’t wait to eat! ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly, ‘low carbify’ your favorite holiday treats! There are certain foods that define the holiday season. I’ve found with just a few modifications, I can still enjoy these holiday staples. Sausage balls are one of those defining staples in my family…so I decided they must be ‘low carbified’. I hope this recipe helps you stay strong during this season of sugar & flour. ๐Ÿ™‚

Low Carbified Sausage Balls

1 pound hot sausage
2 C sharp cheddar shredded cheese
1 1/2 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

Preheat oven to 350.
Mix ingredients together. Roll into golf ball sized balls & place on a baking sheet. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
Because these sausage balls have no flour, they will be greasier when they come out of the oven–I place mine on a paper towel for a few minutes to absorb excess grease. ENJOY!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

20121219-004147.jpg

One thought on “Sausage Balls

  1. Pingback: 50 Low Carb Game Day Recipes | Saved By Grace

Leave a Reply

