Let’s Do This!

I spent the past week in Indiana visiting my Mother-in-Law. She suffered a stroke in late November, and is currently in a light rehab care facility. She has no movement, other than involuntary reflexes, on her left side. My Mother-in-Law has a long road of recovery ahead of her, and I hope she’s strong enough to stay the course.

As I watched her struggle to do the simplest of tasks, I was very thankful for my health. I’m thankful that I made the decision 19 months ago to change the course of my life. I know I will do anything to prevent a debilitating illness in the future.

Having said that…I must say that I’ve been experiencing a bit of frustration this week. I’ve been feeling as if I should see more weight loss progress after 19 months of work, and I really wish I would see more progress in my mid-section–that’s my major problem area. So…I’ve carried around feelings of frustration and I’ve been a little down all week. Until, this evening.

I’ve taken pictures of my weight loss journey from the beginning & saved those pictures on a computer file. My Hubby bought me a fabulous new laptop for Christmas, & tonight I decided to transfer files onto the new laptop. I came across my weight loss photo file, & opened it…GUESS WHAT??? FEELINGS OF FRUSTRATION DISAPPEARED IMMEDIATELY! πŸ™‚

While perusing my weight loss pictures, I realized how far I’ve really come since June 2011. I see amazing progress documented through the pictures, and, honestly, I can’t ask for more. So…I must post pictures tonight! Below is a picture of me in Jan. 2011, Jan. 2012 & a picture from today (Jan. 2013):

January 2011

January 2011

January 2012

January 2012

January 2013

January 2013

The progress is slow but steady, and I am satisfied with that. So…I’ve got to work on the mid-section. I keep my daily carbs around 30 grams a day, but in order to get this mid-section off, I’m going to have to increase my exercise. NEW GOAL FOR JANUARY (note, not a resolution): treadmill every day–even those days I don’t feel like it!

Mid-section, you’re outta here! LET’S DO THIS!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

