Why, YES, I Do Eat Pizza! :)

Pizza doesn’t typically come to mind when you think of low carb foods. Toppings are usually piled upon a thick, doughy  crust. That thick, doughy crust is what makes the typical pizza off-limits on low carb diets. HOWEVER, with just a little tweaking you can definitely enjoy pizza on the low carb lifestyle. 🙂

I make pizza a few different ways — depending on my mood. Sometimes I make a pizza casserole. I layer all my favorite pizza toppings (including a little pizza sauce) in a casserole dish & back until ooey-gooey & just a bit browned on top. Next time I make a pizza casserole, I’ll post the recipe and picture. However, today is all about my low carb personal pizza.

To make a low carb personal pizza you need:

  • You’re favorite pizza toppings (today’s pizza includes pepperoni)
  • Pizza sauce — really pay attention to the brand of pizza sauce you choose. Some sauces are very high in carbs (because they contain a lot of sugar), while others aren’t. Take time to read the nutrition info on the label!
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Low carb tortilla wraps

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place your tortilla on a baking sheet (I spray the baking sheet with cooking spray to prevent any sticking). On your low carb wrap, spoon on a bit of pizza sauce (I usually use 2 spoons full). Next, layer your toppings. Then, top with cheeses. Bake your pizza approximately 10-12 minutes (according to your preference–I like my cheese more on the well done side). Remove from oven, transfer to a plate cut into slices, & enjoy!!! 🙂

Below you will find a picture of my finished personal pizza along with the low carb tortillas I use (many friends have asked me about the low carb tortillas.

IMG_1101

Low Carb Pepperoni Pizza

IMG_1102

Low Carb Tortilla Wraps

Enjoy some pizza deliciousness!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

