Snow Day!!!

The possibility of snow is very exciting to southerners…especially when you’re a teacher! Don’t get me wrong, I always loved teaching & I sincerely enjoyed spending my days with kindergartners; however, an unplanned day off work was always fabulous. I now teach at a university, but the possibility of a snow day is still greatly anticipated & welcomed with open arms (especially when the snow day occurs on the same day as a scheduled all day meeting). Today is one of those grand days–TODAY IS A SNOW DAY!!!

My BLC self (BLC–before low carb) would typically spend a good snow day in the kitchen. I would whip up cakes, cookies, breads–lots of high carb foods to compliment the fact that it was a snow day & I was going to spend the day sitting on my hiney, so I may as well eat lots of carbs too.

Today, I decided to spend some time in the kitchen. However, today is a new kind of snow day, & I am now ALC (ALC–after low carb), so NO CAKES, COOKIES, OR BREADS ALLOWED IN MY KITCHEN! Todays menu consisted of a big pot of chili & cheese quesadillas.

Here’s a picture of my snow day goodies:

Chili & Cheese Quesadillas

Chili & Cheese Quesadillas

Here’s how I make the chili & quesadillas:

Low Carb Chili:

  • 3 pounds ground chuck
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 2 chili peppers
  • 2 onions
  • 1 or 2 cloves garlic (depending on your garlic preference)
  • Chili powder (to taste) — I use approximately 2 Tablespoons or so
  • Cumin (to taste) — I use approximately 1 Tablespoon or so
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes (check nutrition info on can–choose tomatoes with no added sugar)
  • 2 cans stewed Mexican tomatoes
  • 1 can of original Rotel
  • 1 small can of dark red kidney beans (these have carbs — I use sparingly)
  • 2 Tablespoons Splenda
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Dice all veggies: green peppers, chili peppers, onion, & garlic (I use my food processor for this daunting task). Place ground chuck in a stock pot to begin browning, and add diced veggies. Allow veggies to cook while the meat browns. Once the ground chuck is browned, drain any excess fat (ground chuck doesn’t make as much fat as ground beef…which is why I prefer ground chuck). Next, add chili powder & cumin; stir into meat & veggies well. Now add the crushed tomatoes, Mexican tomatoes, & Rotel; stir well. Stir in the Splenda after adding all tomatoes. Next, stir kidney beans into the chili. Lastly, taste & add salt/pepper as necessary & add additional chili powder and cumin if needed–this really depends on your spice preference. Simmer the chili at least an hour (I like to simmer my chili several hours before eating). When I plate my chili, I add Mexican shredded cheese, a sprinkle of cilantro, & a dollop or two of sour cream.

Cheese Quesadillas

  • Low carb tortilla wrap
  • Shredded Mexican cheese
  • Salsa

These are super simple, & delish with chili! Place a low carb tortilla wrap on a baking sheet. Spoon a little salsa onto the tortilla & spread. Next, sprinkle Mexican cheese on the salsa. Place in the oven & broil until the cheese is bubbly. Remove from oven, fold tortilla in half, & cut into slices. Yummm-O!!!

I hope you enjoy a cozy snow day at home soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

