One of My New Favorite Suppers

I have to admit, I’ve not cooked much at all since Christmas. We’ve been busy, traveled a bit, and just enjoyed being off work together. But…the reality that time off is over is beginning to set in.

Tonight was the second time I’ve actually cooked dinner since 2013 began. I typically meal plan for the work week (at least for dinner), so this morning I spent time on Pinterest looking for new ideas and inspiration for this week’s meals. Anyone who has spent time on Pinterest knows that just because a recipe looks good, doesn’t necessarily mean it is good…so sometimes new meals can be disappointing. However, Pinterest is a great place to get inspiration.

I found a recipe for baked chicken fajitas quite intriguing, so decided I would try it tonight. AND, I’m soooo happy to report that this is seriously one of the best recipes I’ve found in a long time! The flavors are absolutely spectacular! In fact, I’m already looking forward to lunch tomorrow as I am having baked chicken fajita leftovers.

I made just a few low carbifications and additions to this spectacular recipes. The original recipe can be found here: Baked Chicken Fajitas.

Below is my low carbified version (again, I didn’t make many modifications at all):

Ingredients:
3-4 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into strips or chunks
1 (15 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 (4 ounce) can diced green chilies
1 medium onion, sliced
1 large bell pepper, seeded and sliced
2 Tablespoon vegetable oil
2 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
Low carb tortilla wraps, warmed to serve
Shredded Mexican cheese
Sour cream

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease a 13×9 baking dish. Mix together chicken, tomatoes, chilies, peppers, and onions in the dish. In a small bowl combine the oil and spices. Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and toss to coat. Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender. Warm the low carb tortilla wraps (just a few seconds in the microwave. Spoon the fajita mixture onto the tortillas, top with some cheese & sour cream. DELICIOUS!!!

Pictures below:

Chicken & veggies baked together

Chicken & veggies baked together

Fajita :)

Fajita 🙂

AND, one more little delicious tidbit for this evening…
Tonight I also made a little dessert–this is rare. I don’t make dessert but maybe only once a month. Florida strawberries are in season, and nothing’s more delicious than strawberries when they’re in season. AND, another bonus, my grocery store has Florida strawberries on sale this week!!! So, I decided I needed a little taste of springtime this evening. ***Note: Strawberries & blueberries are really the only fruits that should be eaten on a low carb diet as they have a much lower sugar content than other fruits. Tonight’s dessert was simply fresh berries with cream cheese dip. Super simple & super delicious!

All you need….
Fresh strawberries
8oz. softened cream cheese
1/2 cup (or so) Splenda–depends on your personal sweetness preference

How to…
Mix cream cheese & Splenda until Splenda is completely incorporated.
Dip strawberries in cream cheese mixture & ENJOY! 🙂

Strawberries & cream cheese dip

Strawberries & cream cheese dip

I guarantee these recipes will make you smile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

