My Low Carbified Twist on a Classic

Have I mentioned how much I love to cook??? I know I’ve mentioned it many times before, but cooking has always been one of my favorite pastimes. I’m a southern girl from a large southern family…cooking and food was a central part of our lives–every event is social, and all social events center on good southern food. So, I was raised learning the art and importance of good southern cooking.

My husband is from northern Indiana…not really a location known for it’s cuisine. When we began dating he did not eat/like most  vegetables or truly homemade food; his palate preferred processed/frozen/canned foods, chips, and Little Debbie cakes. It really bothered me that he didn’t like home cooking, because I was (and am) a southern cook with an old soul–I really put my foot in my cooking (that’s an old southern saying used when someone puts their heart and soul into their cooking–yes it’s weird and no I don’t know where/why it originated). However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that my husband just thought he didn’t like home cooked food–all that changed once he tried my meals. 🙂

When I began my low carb journey almost 2 years ago, there were many of my husband’s favorite foods that I could no longer make…or at least I thought I could no longer make. Probably his MOST favorite meal I made was meatloaf and mashed potatoes–nothing fancy or special, just good comfort food. It has literally been almost 2 years since I’ve made meatloaf and mashed potatoes. When making this week’s menu, my husband asked me if there was any way I could possibly try making his favorite meal. Because I love my husband, and I love a low carbification challenge, I decided to try recreating his favorite meal (well, his favorite meal low carbified).

The meatloaf was really a no-brainer. The only ingredient that had to be replaced was bread crumbs–no biggie. HOWEVER, the problem was a mashed potato substitute…not only a substitute, but a GOOD substitute. I’ve made mashed cauliflower several times, but it was always too grainy or too watery for my (and especially my husband’s) taste. So, I turned to my low carb support system on the WWW. I’m happy to report I found FABULOUS tips regarding mashed cauliflower…so I began creating my husband’s favorite meal.

Tonight, we enjoyed meatloaf & mashed cauliflower that was VERY reminiscent of that high carb meal we indulged in two years ago. Below you’ll find my recipes for a low carbified twist on this classic comfort meal:

Meat Loaf:

  • 1.5 pounds ground chuck
  • 1 diced green pepper
  • 1 small diced onion
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Topping:

  • 1/3 cup sugar free ketchup
  • 2 Tablespoons Splenda brown sugar mix
  • 1 Tablespoon mustard

How To:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Mix all meatloaf ingredients (not including topping) together in a bowl–use your hands to completely incorporate everything
  3. Place meatloaf in a loaf pan
  4. Mix topping ingredients well
  5. Pour topping over meatloaf & completely cover top
  6. Bake for 60 minutes
  7. Allow to rest for 20 minutes before cutting — I pour any/grease off the meat loaf before cutting

Mashed Cauliflower

  • Head of cauliflower
  • 3 Tablespoons heavy cream
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 Tablespoons sour cream
  • Salt & pepper to taste

How to:

  1. Cut cauliflower into chunks (medium sized is best) — completely remove all the stem
  2. Place cauliflower chunks into a microwave safe bowl with the heavy cream & butter & cook 7 minutes (cover with paper towel)
  3. Stir cauliflower & cook another 7-8 minutes
  4. Place cauliflower & remaining ingredients in food processor — process on HIGH until everything is incorporated well
  5. Spoon into a serving bowl & ENJOY! 🙂
Low carbified meatloaf & mashed cauliflower

Low carbified meatloaf & mashed cauliflower

Leave a Reply

