Pinterest Inspiration

I love Pinterest! I can honestly spend hours (if I’m not careful) perusing the many categories of EVERYTHING available. However, a full time college instructor in the midst of writing a dissertation doesn’t have the luxury of spending hours on Pinterest.  So…I reward myself with Pinterest. After working consecutively for a couple of hours, I allow myself a brain break to check out the latest pins. I especially look for low carb recipes & recipes I can low carbify.

Tonight’s dinner is one of my latest Pinterest finds–Sloppy Joe Stuffed Peppers. I was immediately in love with this recipe after reading the name (seriously, what’s not to love?!). My stuffed peppers are in the oven as we speak (type), and my kitchen smells absolutely amazing.

The recipe, picture and original recipe link is below:

This recipe is one of MANY delicious offerings from Linda’s Low Carb Menus & Recipes & can be found here: http://www.genaw.com/lowcarb/sloppyjoe_stuffed_peppers.html.

SLOPPY JOE STUFFED PEPPERS
Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef
1 ounce onion, chopped
2 tablespoons chopped celery
1 clove minced garlic
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1 teaspoon granular Splenda
1 1/2 teaspoons white vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
3 green peppers, halved lengthwise

How To:

Brown the ground beef, onion, celery and garlic; drain the fat. Stir in all of the remaining ingredients except the cheese and green peppers. Simmer 10 minutes. Meanwhile, parboil the peppers in a little boiling water 3 minutes; drain. Place the peppers in a baking dish. Stir half of the cheese into the hamburger mixture; fill the peppers with the meat. Top with the remaining cheese. Bake at 350º 15-20 minutes until hot and bubbly and the peppers are tender.

Sloppy Joe Stuffed Peppers

Sloppy Joe Stuffed Peppers

ENJOY!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

