Comfort and Food

I haven’t posted anything in awhile. Life has been crazy on my end lately. I write today’s post in the wake of a personal tragedy.

My husband & I have been married almost 12 years. We have no children; it’s not that we don’t want kids, but for years we honestly didn’t think that was an option for us. I suffered with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) most of our married life. However, when I began my low carb lifestyle the PCOS began reversing itself & now I’m happy to say is no longer a factor in my life. With the absence of PCOS came increased fertility, and last week we found out WE WERE PREGNANT!!! I cannot tell you how ecstatic we were. We never realized how badly we wanted a child until that moment. For 4 days our minds were consumed with everything baby. Yesterday was my first prenatal exam, & we couldn’t wait.

However, our joy quickly turned to extreme sadness. When I went to the bathroom at the doctor’s office for the usual urine specimen, I found I was bleeding. I cannot express how fearful I was at that moment. My husband said he knew immediately when he saw my face something was wrong. My doctor confirmed my fear–I was miscarrying the pregnancy.

My husband & I were devastated, to say the least. We needed comfort food & decided, for one night, we had to turn to carbs. We ordered our favorite Greg’s pizza & bought our favorite indulgent dessert–white cake with thick buttercream icing. We ate pizza crust, cake, & drank regular Coke in hopes of drowning our sorrows in the comfort of sugar & carbs. The reality of that decision was a night of bloated guts & feelings of great remorse (on top of the huge loss we were experiencing with the miscarriage).

Today, was a rebirth to our low carb commitment. Today started off with our typical low carb fare, and our bodies feel much better (no bloat, no sugar comas, no regret). I found my afternoon snack of strawberries & blueberries with cream cheese much more comforting than last night’s high carb splurge.

20130219-163338.jpg

As far as our reproductive future…
My doctor is very hopeful that I will be successful with future pregnancies. We are meeting with him in a few weeks to make a plan. In the meantime, we are praying for our future children & making healthy lifestyle decisions for ourselves.

4 thoughts on “Comfort and Food

  1. Lori,
    I’m so sorry for your and Terry’s loss. God knows what is best and I know he will be there for you all and bless you with a beautiful baby. Oh, thanks to you I’ve lost 14 pounds and counting! Love ya

    • Pam, thanks so very much! We feel The Lord will bless us with a healthy baby; now, we must prepare ourselves & be patient.
      I’m sooooo very happy to hear of your weight loss success!!!!!!! Thank you for sharing šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

