Chocolate, Peanut Butter Eggs…Just in Time for Easter!

Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs are one of my B.L.C. (before low carb) favorites!!! However, I’ve not had one in almost two whole years, and some days a girl just feels like indulging. BUT (and this is a big but), indulging leads to such feelings of EXTREME guilt (at least for me). Over the past two years I’ve found I’m better at dealing with ignoring temptations than dealing with the extreme guilt that sets in immediately after indulging in high carb forbidden foods. Also, I sincerely enjoy the challenge of recreating low carb versions of my favorite B.L.C. guilty pleasures.

Today I woke up & decided I deserved to indulge a bit today (it has been a highly stressful week for me), and I needed some chocolate & peanut butter. While at the grocery store I saw those tempting Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs just staring at me; calling to me. I’m proud to say, however, I rolled my cart right past those decadent candies & decided to create a low carb safe version of those yummy confections.

I just sampled the finished product, and all I can say is OMGoodness!!!!!! My mouth, my tummy, & my blood sugar are soooooooooooooooo very happy!!!

Low Carbified Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs:
1 cup natural peanut butter (remember, there’s no added sugar in the real stuff)
1 cup Splenda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 pks. sugar free chocolate chips

How To:
Mix peanut butter, salt, & Splenda together (I use my hands for this task). Then shape golf ball sized balls of dough into egg shapes (this is totally optional–you can make peanut butter balls as well) & place on a wax paper lined plate. Freeze the dough eggs for approximately an hour (this allows the peanut butter dough to harden a bit & makes it easier to dip in chocolate).
While the peanut butter dough is freezing, melt sugar free chocolate chips in the microwave until melted (I check/stir my chocolate at 30 second intervals to help prevent scorching). When chocolate is melted, dip/roll each peanut butter egg in the chocolate. Place each chocolate/peanut butter egg onto a wax paper/parchment paper lined plate & put back into the freezer for about 20-30 minutes (until eggs harden). Once they’re hard, take them out of the freezer & place on a serving plate. ENJOY!!! šŸ™‚ (I store leftovers in the fridge.)

Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs

Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs

Leave a Reply

