Two Years Later…Celebrating the Small Stuff

June 5th marked my two-year low carb lifestyle anniversary!!! I can’t believe this much time has passed since my anniversary date & I’m just now getting around to posting. About a month or so ago, when I thought of my two-year low carb anniversary, I thought about how I wanted to celebrate this milestone. I mentioned to my Hubby that we needed to celebrate that anniversary–honestly, it’s a milestone I never thought I would achieve. After I mentioned a little celebration to him, I kind of forgot about it. So…since there was no celebration, I think maybe it’s more appropriate to reflect on the last two years…so here goes. 🙂

Things I NEVER thought would be a reality two years ago:

  • Shopping for clothes at any ole store (without having to go to a specialty shop)
  • Wearing dresses for the heck of wearing dresses & enjoying it (dresses NEVER looked right on me 2 years ago & I avoided them)
  • Wearing cute shoes (boots, heels, wedges, etc) without fear of falling
  • Being able to wear just about anything cute I find (two years ago I just had to wear what fit)
  • Going a day without carbs (much less 2 whole years)
  • Enjoying salad as if it was cake (I actually CRAVE salad)
  • Being able to go places requiring a great deal of walking without being extremely winded & immediately exhausted (two years ago I completely avoided these places altogether)
  • Enjoying myself wherever I go
  • Actively trying to get pregnant (two years ago I never imagined this would be possible)
  • Walking across campus
  • Liking what I see in the mirror (I still have lots of work to do, but I can look at myself with pride and appreciation of my journey)
  • Getting on the scale without major depression setting in (I’m still not a fan of the scale…but we’re working on that relationship a day at a time 🙂 )
  • Going to the doctor & no longer worrying about the ‘you need to lose weight’ speech
  • Feeling that I have a contribution to make
  • Taking great pride in myself (my accomplishments and achievements)
  • Enjoying playing (well, trying to play) sports my Hubby loves
  • Waking up feeling good (no aches, pains, stiffness) and having energy
  • Having high energy all day long & able to do anything I choose without exhaustion or having to sit down
  • Seeing myself in pictures without feelings of complete disgust (I still don’t LOVE pictures of myself, but I’m also working on this one)
  • Comfortably riding in the car (without being choked by the seat belt or having the console squished in my side)
  • Climbing stairs without stopping after every other step to pant
  • Enjoying working in my yard
  • Enjoying life

I’m sure there are more things I could add to this list, but I just can’t think of them at this moment. 🙂

I’m thankful for the last two years; they have not been easy & they have not been without struggles, but I am thankful for them nonetheless. I’m not the same person I was two years ago. I have grown and evolved in ways I could never have imagined. I often wondered why I had to bear this cross of overweightness; I questioned why so many times. I’ve come to the conclusion that perhaps I faced this struggle to realize who I was created to be. If I never had to deal with a weight problem, would I be the same person I am today? I will never know, but as I’ve said in previous posts, I’ve learned so much about myself through this journey. Today, I know I am a strong woman capable of anything I set my mind to.  As I look at the list of things I couldn’t do two years ago, I realize how much more I enjoy each one of them now; I realize how much more I enjoy life today. I now find pleasure in completing the most mundane of daily tasks (such as cleaning the house)–two years ago these tasks were too taxing on my body. I celebrate simple things–earlier this week I walked up a huge hill (it really is huge, I’m not exaggerating 😉 ) while talking on the phone & never got winded or tired. I was so excited because I knew this was something I couldn’t do only two years ago. I’ve probably changed more in the last two years than I have in my entire life, and I’m grateful for that.

I look forward to what the next two years (and beyond) will hold! In the meantime, I’ll keep celebrating the small stuff. 🙂

IMG_1080-2

 

 

Leave a Reply

