Noodles!

One thing I really miss on a low carb lifestyle is noodles. I’ve been looking for the perfect kitchen gadget to make veggie noodle creation a bit easier (to this point I’ve been cutting veggie noodles by hand–this takes forever). I was on a foodie blog about a month ago and saw an advertisement for a spiral slicer that was supposed to be the answer to the low carb noodle conundrum. Well, being the skeptical person I am, I decided to do a little research before shelling out $29.00 for this little gadget. While out of town last week, I visited several kitchen supply stores, Bed, Bath, & Beyond, and a kitchen gadget  outlet store & could not find anything that seemed to rival this particular slicer. I decided to read reviews & overwhelmingly folks were extremely satisfied with the ease of use & performance of this slicer. So…I had no choice, I absolutely had to order the slicer.

Today, a little smiley face box from Amazon.com was on my doorstep! I was so excited, because I knew it was my slicer–my veggie noodle dream come true! My dinner menu was not a hard decision today–spaghetti with meat sauce! Oh, how I’ve missed spaghetti! I made my typical meat sauce (I’ll include the recipe below for anyone interested–but this post is all about the noodles); then, while the sauce was simmering, I ripped the slicer box open like a kid on Christmas morning 🙂 . I had four medium-sized zucchini washed & ready to go, gave the slicer a wash, and was ready to begin making ‘noodles’. Honestly, creating zucchini noodles was perhaps easier than opening a box of traditional pasta noodles! In less than probably 2 minutes I had all 4 zucchini transformed into noodles!!! The slicer has 2 parts–one main piece & a small piece to stabilize the veggie & protect your fingers–no assembly, no fuss, no muss! If you miss noodles as much as I have, do yourself a favor & invest in this little kitchen gem.

81Glmaa9VrL__SL1500_

Order info for my newest favorite kitchen gadget can be found here (Amazon.com).

If you’re interested in my meat sauce (low carb, low sodium) recipe, it can be found below.

MEAT SAUCE RECIPE:

Ingredients:
*2 pounds ground chuck
*1 large diced onion
*2 teaspoons finely diced garlic (this really depends on your garlic preference)
*1 large green pepper diced
*1 Teaspoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
*1 cup sliced Baby Bella mushrooms (you may use fresh or can, I prefer fresh)
*1 28oz. can of crushed tomatoes
*1 6oz. can of tomato paste
*1 Tablespoon of Italian seasoning
*1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese
*Salt & pepper to taste (I don’t add any salt as the Parmesan adds saltiness to the sauce)

How to:
Add olive oil to a large skillet on medium heat. Add onions, green peppers, & garlic–allow to cook until onions are translucent. Add ground chuck & allow to brown completely. Next, add crushed tomatoes, then tomato paste–stir until paste is well incorporated. Add baby Bellas, Italian seasoning, grated Parmesan, salt & pepper. Allow the sauce to simmer (I simmer for about an hour to an hour and a half so all flavors marry). Spoon sauce over delicious zucchini noodles & enjoy! 🙂

ZUCCHINI NOODLES:
How to:
Slice zucchini into noodles. Place noodles in a microwave safe container & cover completely. Microwave at 2 minute intervals (this way you can decide how done you prefer your noodles). I probably cooked my noodles for a total of 4 minutes (my hubby likes his noodles a little past al dente). Remove noodles from microwave & squeeze out liquid in a colander (I’m not a fan of soggy noodles 🙂 ). Plate desired amount of noodles & top with your favorite sauce. Enjoy! 🙂

944278_10151787683033142_1403976835_n

2 thoughts on “Noodles!

  1. I’m going to have to get me one of these…I love gadgets. Since my bypass surgery I can not tolerate pasta. I’ve tried and it still makes me sick every time. We has friends over this weekend and I made baked speg…I of course had to excuse myself…
    Thanks for sharing…keep the poata coming.

Leave a Reply

