Any Night Dinner

I just accepted a new job offer. I’m excited about this new job opportunity; however, the job is about an hour from home. So…I’m not particularly excited about the drive, but I’m hoping I’ll eventually get used to it. One thing that concerns me about working so far from home is cooking dinner for my hubby. If left to his own devices, he will turn to processed, fast food & I don’t want that to happen. So, I’ve been thinking of simple-to-fix dinners for weeknights.

Tonight’s dinner was one of those super simple suppers that I will DEFINITELY turn to on busy weeknights. This meal full of protein & veggie goodness, but seriously tastes sinful. Tonight’s menu included baked lemon pepper chicken breasts, mashed cauliflower, & sautéed asparagus. SO VERY GOOD!!! The recipes for each are below.

If you have a favorite, fast supper recipe, I’d LOVE LOVE LOVE for you to share it with me!!! 🙂

BAKED LEMON PEPPER CHICKEN
Ingredients:
*2 (however many you need) boneless, skinless chicken breasts
*Lemon pepper seasoning (make sure it has no added sugar–I purchase grocery store brand) *Cooking spray
*2 pats of butter (real butter)

How to:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a cooking dish with cooking spray. Sprinkle lemon pepper seasoning on chicken breasts & place in cooking dish. Top each piece of chicken with a pat of butter. Cook chicken for an hour.

MASHED CAULIFLOWER
Ingredients:
*Head of cauliflower
*2 tablespoons heavy cream
*2 tablespoons butter
*1 cup of sharp cheddar cheese
*A couple tablespoons of sour cream
*Pepper to taste (I don’t add salt as the cheese adds saltiness)
*Chopped chives (optional)

How to:
Wash & chop the head of cauliflower. Place cauliflower into a microwave safe bowl. Add heavy cream & butter to the cauliflower. Cover the bowl & microwave for about 9 minutes. Once the 9 minutes ends, stir cauliflower, cream, & butter & microwave another 9 minutes. When finished cooking, pour mixture into a food processor & process until smooth. Add cheese. Process until well incorporated. Add sour cream & pepper. Process once again until well incorporated. Pour into a serving bowl (you may need to heat up the mashed cauliflower as adding the cheese & sour cream sometimes cools the dish a bit too much for my liking). I like to garnish with chopped chives.

SAUTEED ASPARAGUS
***This is my absolute favorite dish–I could seriously ONLY eat this & be so very happy*** Ingredients:
*A bunch of asparagus
*Extra Virgin Olive Oil
*2 teaspoons minced garlic
*Juice of 1 lemon
*Sprinkle of sea salt
*Pepper to taste

How to: Wash & dry asparagus well. Heat olive oil in a skillet. Add asparagus, garlic, lemon juice, sea salt, & pepper. Sautee until the asparagus turns a lovely bright green color. YUMMMM!!!!

970626_10151789719308142_305259149_n

2 thoughts on “Any Night Dinner

  1. Congratulations on the new job:). You meal looks awesome and it is clear you’re a fantastic cook! What seems like a simple meal to you would be a complex process for me! Teresa

Leave a Reply

