Japanese Mushroom Soup–YUM!!!

When committing to a low carb lifestyle, one has to make changes to eating habits if one hopes to be successful. One necessary change is restaurant choices–this can make or break low carb eating. I’ve talked about this before in previous blog posts, but I definitely think it’s worth mentioning it again–some restaurants are just off limits to me! Sure, if I go to Olive Garden, I can opt for steamed veggies in place of pasta & pass on the garlic breadsticks; however, I just don’t want to deal with that much temptation (also, HELLO, I think it may be considered sacrilegious to visit Olive Garden without indulging in a garlic breadstick). Aaaaannnyyyway, there are some restaurants I choose not to visit πŸ™‚ .

Other than Italian, I also choose not to visit Chinese, Japanese, & Thai restaurants. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Asian cuisine; however, it’s just too much temptation for this gal. Even if I don’t eat rice, many sauces contain sugar/high fructose corn syrup/etc….so, it’s just easier for me to avoid these restaurants altogether (much to my tastebud’s sadness & dismay).

One of my favorites at Japanese restaurants is the clear Hibachi soup with fresh scallions and mushrooms. I had a serious CRAVING for this soup earlier, & had to make myself some (it was either make my own version or risk the temptation of visiting my favorite Japanese restaurant…and too many temptations lurk around every corner there πŸ˜‰ ). Thankfully this soup is super easy & quick to make, & it will keep in the fridge for several days (it also is freezable, so you can pour into small containers & thaw as needed).

If you love Japanese mushroom soup as much as me, I hope you enjoy this recipe. πŸ™‚

JAPANESE MUSHROOM SOUP
Ingredients:

  • 3 cups beef broth
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 peeled, finely chopped carrots
  • 2 peeled garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 finely chopped onion
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • Fresh scallions (1/2 scallion per serving)
  • Fresh mushrooms (1 mushroom per serving)

How to:

In a stock pot, add beef broth, chicken broth, & water. Process all veggies finely in the food processor. Place all veggies in the broth & bring to a boil. After reaching a rolling boil, reduce heat to a simmer & allow soup to simmer for at least an hour (the longer it simmers the better the flavor). Using either cheesecloth or a super fine colander, strain the pieces of veggies out of the soup (discard veggies). Chop scallions & mushrooms & place in each steaming bowl of soup. YUMMMMM-OOO! πŸ™‚

1236653_10151912572758142_2097937300_n

***Update: I think next time I make this soup, I will add a bit of fresh ginger (it’s super YUMMM as it is, but I think a bit of ginger will put it over the top YUMMM). πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

