My Hubby’s Favorite Soup

Today’s the first day of fall, and it MOST DEFINITELY feels like it outside. Crisp, cool evenings always put me in the mood for hot, steamy, stick-to-the-ribs, satisfying, yummy soup.

Over the past two years, I have perfected the art of ‘low carbifying’ my favorite soups & stews. I’ve come up with new soup recipes–some fabulous, some we shall never speak of again 😉 . I’ve discovered new favorite soups & created low carb twists on old favorites. Today, by my Hubby’s persistent request, I revisited an old favorite soup–vegetable beef soup. I’ve always enjoyed this soup, but it’s seriously my Husband’s all time fave–he’s a VERY happy camper right now as the smell of this hearty soup fills our home.

I don’t make this soup very often, because, even after some low carbifying tricks, it still has a bit more carbs than I prefer for one meal. The original version calls for potatoes, elbow macaroni, & V8 Juice. For the lower carb version, I deleted potatoes altogether, added Dreamfields (low carb) elbow macaroni, and kept the V8 Juice. Of course, you can delete the elbow macaroni completely & substitute tomato juice for the V8 for an even lower carb version of this soup; however, for the sake of the Hubby, I chose not to do that (this time).

VEGETABLE BEEF SOUP (my lower carbified version)

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds ground chuck
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup Dreamfields (low carb) elbow macaroni
  • 1 bag of frozen soup vegetables (the bag contains: lima beans, green beans, peas, carrots, okra, onion, corn, green pepper, and celery)
  • 1 large can of stewed tomatoes (28oz)
  • 1 large container of V8 Juice (64oz)
  • 1 stick of butter
  • Salt & pepper to taste

How to:

  1. Brown ground chuck. Drain fat.
  2. In a large stock pot, bring water to a boil.
  3. Add Dreamfields macaroni to the boiling water, and boil until tender (about 8-10 minutes).
  4. Add frozen vegetables to the macaroni & continue to boil until veggies are tender (about 6 more minutes).
  5. Add stewed tomatoes & cooked ground chuck to the pot, stir everything together.
  6. Add all V8 Juice to the pot & stir everything together.
  7. Bring everything to a boil, then immediately reduce heat to low.
  8. Add the stick of butter & allow soup to cook for at least an hour before serving.
  9. Add salt & pepper to taste.
  10. Enjoy! 🙂
  11. This soup tastes really, really, really good the next day (HELLO LEFTOVER MEAL). 🙂
Typically when I make vegetable soup, I make egg salad wraps using low carb tortillas; however, because this soup has a few more carbs, I opted for deviled eggs instead.

Typically when I make vegetable soup, I make egg salad wraps using low carb tortillas; however, because this soup has a few more carbs, I opted for deviled eggs instead.

Leave a Reply

