Heed the WARNING Labels! ;)

As I was scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed earlier, I spotted a peculiar link to Amazon posted by one of the many low carb pages I follow. It was peculiar because it said to read the Amazon customer ratings/review section for this particular product. I was extremely curious, so I clicked the link to Amazon, scrolled down to the ratings/review section, read the very first review & seriously laughed harder than I have in weeks. Before I share with you why the ratings/review section was so very hilarious, I’ll give you a bit of background on this product (well, a certain ingredient in this product).

Sugar-free candy. In theory, this sounds like the perfect product: candy – sugar = satisfaction with no insulin spike or weight gain. Again, in theory this sounds like a good idea 😉 . In order to add the sweetness to sugar-free candies/cookies/ice cream/etc., sugar alcohols are added. Products containing sugar alcohols typically contain a warning statement on the packaging label. Aaaannnnyyyyway, the warning reads something like this: “Consumption of some sugar-free candies may cause stomach discomfort and/or a laxative effect.  Individual tolerance will vary.  If this is the first time you’ve tried these candies, we recommend beginning with one-fourth of a serving size or less. Made with Lycasin, a sugar alcohol. As with other sugar alcohols, people sensitive to this substance may experience upset stomachs” (this, by the way, is the warning label on the product I will share with you shortly). FYI: This does not apply to homemade sugar-free goodies. Splenda and Stevia don’t have the same effect as store-bought products that contain sugar alcohols.

So, maybe if sugar-free candies come with a WARNING label, they might not be such a great idea. I’m kind of a ‘learn by experience’ gal. Sure, you can tell me the stove eye is hot, but until I touch it for myself, I’m not REALLY going to understand what hot means. When faced with the possibility of having candy while living a low carb lifestyle, I was rather intrigued. Sure, I saw the warning labels on the bags of sugar-free Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, sugar-free Hershey’s bars, sugar-free Almond Joy bars, etc., etc., etc., but I didn’t actually understand what the warning meant when it said, “Consumption of some sugar-free candies may cause stomach discomfort and/or a laxative effect.” Again, I was going to have to learn this lesson the hard way. I won’t go into any gory details (if you read the Amazon link I’m posting below, the reviewers will take care of those gory details), but I now UNDERSTAND what that warning label means.

Here it is…the Amazon link to Haribo’s sugar-free gummy bears: Click HERE!!! Make sure to scroll down to the customer reviews/ratings–if you need a good laugh. Here’s a little preview of what awaits you there:

“Oh man…words cannot express what happened to me after eating these. The Gummi Bear ‘Cleanse’. If you are someone that can tolerate the sugar substitute, enjoy. If you are like the dozens of people that tried my order, RUN! First of all, for taste I would rate these a 5. So good. Soft, true-to-taste fruit flavors like the sugar variety…I was a happy camper. BUT (or should I say BUTT), not long after eating about 20 of these all hell broke loose. I had a gastrointestinal experience like nothing I’ve ever imagined. Cramps, sweating, bloating beyond my worst nightmare. I’ve had food poisoning from some bad shellfish and that was almost like a skip in the park compared to what was going on inside me. Then came the, uh, flatulence. Heavens to Murgatroyd, the sounds, like trumpets calling the demons back to Hell…the stench, like 1,000 rotten corpses vomited. I couldn’t stand to stay in one room for fear of succumbing to my own odors. But wait; there’s more…”

So, NOTE TO SELF, heed the warning labels; even on something as ‘innocent and unassuming’ as sugar-free candies/cookies/ice cream/etc. 😀

BEWARE :D

BEWARE 😀

Leave a Reply

