Peanut Butter Fudgy Goodness :)

Good Sunday evening! I hope your weekend has been as peaceful & relaxing as mine. I enjoyed time outside, relaxed on the porch, had dinner with friends, and spent time in the kitchen. AND, time in the kitchen always means some type of low carb treat follows. 🙂

My Hubby LOVES fudge, & asked me Friday if I could create some sugar-free fudge. I’ve tried sugar-free fudge before & sometimes it works & sometimes it flops. I began thinking about my Mom’s fool-proof peanut butter fudge recipe & thought about how I might be able to tweak her recipe. The greatest dilemma in recreating her fudge was trying to find a way to replace sweetened condensed milk. I decided to try creating a similar feat with Splenda (not everyone likes Splenda, saying it has a weird aftertaste–I’ve never had that problem, which is why I typically use Splenda in most all of my sugar-free recipes). I liquefied the Splenda with vanilla extract & a tablespoon of water to see what happened; to my happiness, the result looked very much like sweetened condensed milk…but would it provide the creaminess of sweetened condensed milk? That was yet to be determined.

I’m very happy to say that this fudge is FANTASTIC!!! It has a wonderful creamy texture, it’s full of peanutty goodness, it cuts easily, it stores well, & tastes even better the next day–everything you want in a fudge. 🙂

Enjoy! 🙂

PEANUT BUTTER FUDGE

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of natural peanut butter (remember, there’s no added sugar in the natural stuff)
  • 1 cup of butter (real butter, not margarine) ***I used salted butter this time; however, next time, I’m using unsalted. I think the natural saltiness in the peanut butter coupled with the salt in the butter was a bit too much salt for me. However, I’ve been watching my salt intake for several months & I don’t prefer a lot of saltiness in foods. Whether you use salted or unsalted butter is really a personal preference.
  • 1 1/2 cup of Splenda
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 Tablespoon water (carefully measure, you don’t want more than 1 Tablespoon)
  • 1 Tablespoon heavy whipping cream

How to:

  1. In a microwavable bowl (preferably glass), add peanut butter & butter.
  2. Microwave 2 minutes (stop halfway through, stir & continue cooking)–make sure butter is melted.
  3. Wisk peanut butter & butter until well blended.
  4. In a separate bowl, add Splenda, vanilla, heavy whipping cream & water. Stir well until everything is well incorporated (this mixture will resemble sweetened condensed milk)
  5. Pour Splenda mixture into peanut butter mixture, and wisk until everything is incorporated well.
  6. Line an 8 X 8 cake pan with wax paper or foil (whichever you have on hand).
  7. Spray lined pan with cooking spray to ensure easy fudge removal.
  8. Pour fudge mixture into the pan & smooth out the top with a plastic spatula.
  9. Cover fudge & place in refrigerator until sets up well (this takes a couple of hours; however, I prefer to allow the fudge to set up overnight before removing & cutting).
  10. Carefully remove fudge from pan (pull up ends of wax paper/foil for best results).
  11. Cut into desired pieces & ENJOY!!! 🙂
  12. Keep fudge in fridge.
YUMMMM!!! :)

YUMMMM!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

