Faux ‘Potato’ Soup? 100% Husband Approved!

I’ve talked about my sweet, wonderful, patient, kind, supportive, FABULOUS hubby many times before…and, I’m going to talk a little more about him right now. πŸ™‚

My husband is the last of three children, making him the baby in his family. As his momma’s last born baby, she catered to him. Most children are made to eat veggies & eventually learn to enjoy them; not my hubby. If he didn’t like something, he NEVER had to try it again; instead, his mom made only foods he liked. Needless to say, when I met my husband, his palette preferred only cheeseburgers, french fries, chicken nuggets, pizza, and the like (anything fried in grease or coated in sugar was definitely on his daily menu). Vegetables of ANY KIND (french fries are NOT vegetables) were off-limits to him–he wouldn’t even try them! This was so frustrating for me as a new wife who wanted to cook actual meals for my new hubby.

So, as futile as it seemed, I decided to wage war on his eating habits. As I’ve also mentioned in previous blog posts, I LOVE TO COOK–I always have. I come from a long line of talented Southern cooks (my mom, grandmother, aunts, great-grandmother) & I happily embrace that heritage. Also, thanks to my mom, I inherited the attitude that I’m not a short-order cook; either eat what I make, or go hungry. My sweet & spoiled hubby had no idea what kind of madness he married into πŸ˜€ !!! I wasn’t quite the dinner dictator that you’re probably imagining right about now; I eased him into this new life of vegetables & dinner entrees not requiring ketchup. We started with simple things such as green beans and mashed potatoes–he actually thought mashed potatoes were SUPPOSED to come from a box (bless his sweet heart). In no time he realized that he actually enjoyed REAL food.

During this time of ‘new’ food exploration, he discovered that potato soup is perhaps the most wonderful stuff on earth (a discovery I made around age 5). However, the first time I told him I was making potato soup for supper, his reaction was not very positive. In fact, I think I remember him saying something like, “Potatoes in soup…UGGGHHHHH.” However, he was completely hookedΒ on the creamy, cheesy, savory, satisfying elixir after the first spoonful. Potato soup quickly became one of my hubby’s favorite things.

Fast-forward 12 years…
Now, my once picky hubby lives in my low carb world. On a daily basis he eats broccoli, brussel sprouts, lima beans, spinach, squash, zucchini, cabbage, etc., etc., etc. This man who once adamantly REFUSED to even try a vegetable, is now hooked on them (YAY, ME πŸ˜€ )! In fact, he now requests foods such as mashed cauliflower, baked squash, and lima beans with butter. Even though he’s acquired a taste for vegetables & loves my low carb meals, he’s still skeptical when I ‘experiment’…especially when experiments are served for his supper & there’s no back-up plan (Who needs a back-up plan when you KNOW the ‘experiment’ will be EPIC?! πŸ˜‰ ).

This week I was feeling ‘adventurous’ (haha) & decided to ‘experiment’. I’ve been thinking about making a low carb version of my hubby’s favorite soup for awhile now, and decided this week was perfect for ‘potato’ soup. My sweet guy’s reaction was once again skeptical when I told him we were having ‘potato’ soup for supper; his response was, “Seriously, you actually think you can make a soup as good as potato soup without potatoes?! I don’t think so. Some things just shouldn’t be messed with.” My reaction: “Challenge accepted.” πŸ˜‰

The final outcome: my husband is still raving about the excellent-ness of my faux ‘potato’ soup. He actually told my parents that it’s his new favorite soup. My reaction: “VICTORY!” πŸ˜€

So, here’s the recipe for my hubby’s new favorite soup:

FAUX ‘POTATO’ SOUP

INGREDIENTS:

  • One head of cauliflower
  • 1 stalk of celery (with leaves)
  • 1 large carrot (or 3-4 baby carrots)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 pound of bacon
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 stick butter (real butter, no crappy chemically created imitation)
  • Chopped chives (optional)

HOW TO:

  1. Cook bacon in a stock pot until crispy (you’ll use the bacon grease, so don’t dispose of it).
  2. While bacon is cooking, prepare veggies.
  3. Finely chop onion, carrot & celery (I use my food processor) & set aside.
  4. Finely chop the cauliflower in the food processor until it resembles rice.
  5. Once bacon is crispy, remove from stock pot & set aside.
  6. Add onions, carrot and celery to the stock pot & sautee in the bacon grease until veggies are soft & transparent (about 8-10 minutes).
  7. Add cauliflower to the stockpot. Cover the pot & steam the cauliflower for 10-12 minutes (I like my cauliflower to be very soft so it resembles the consistency of potatoes, so I steam for 12 minutes).
  8. Crumble bacon & add 3/4 back into the stock pot. Reserve the other 1/4 for garnish.
  9. Add cheese & stir until melted.
  10. Add sour cream & butter & stir until melted & well incorporated.
  11. Ladle into soup bowl & garnish with bacon crumbles, chives & even a small dollop of sour cream
  12. ENJOY!!! πŸ˜€
Faux 'Potato' Soup

Faux ‘Potato’ Soup

100% Husband Approved!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

4 thoughts on “Faux ‘Potato’ Soup? 100% Husband Approved!

  1. I’ve made it and although I didn’t follow the directions exactly because I got very hungry, it’s great! Soup is such a comfort food and go good on a rainy or cold day.

    I also didn’t have any heavy cream, only almond milk. LOL

Leave a Reply

