An Oldie but Goodie

Today, I revisited one of my favorite dessert recipes & realized just why it’s a favorite–but I’ll get back to all that in just a minute…

I’ve been watching non-stop Christmas movies on the Hallmark Channel this weekend, and as a result, ended up with a HUGE craving for crispy, crunchy cookies (I’m sure this had NOTHING to do with the fact that each and every character in all movies are eating crunchy Christmas cookies…). Aaaanyway, I was seriously craving a cookie. Why not just eat a regular ole cookie? It’s just one cookie! One little cookie won’t ruin all your hard work. –These are all thoughts that (a) run through my head when a craving hits and (b) have been said by family & friends during the course of my low carb journey.

Last week, while checking out one of my favorite low carb websites, I found an article discussing what happens inside the body after indulging in a simple, high carb food (such as one little cookie). The article said that it takes about 14 days for the body to recover from the effects of simple carbs. WOW, IT WOULD TAKE 14 DAYS FOR MY BODY TO PROCESS THE COOKIE BEFORE IT COULD RETURN TO OPTIMAL FAT BURNING MODE!!! What a wonderful and timely reminder to JUST SAY NO (to even one simple carb treat)!!!

As we enter the season of temptation (Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day), it’s more important than ever for me to stay dedicated to my low carb choices. I don’t want 2 & 1/2 years of work to be compromised by 2 months of bad food choices. When faced with “it’s only one cookie”, “it’s only one piece of fudge”, “it’s only one piece of cake”, etc…I will remember that all those “only ones” add up & my body will suffer the effects of those food choices for days (which equates to slower/no fat loss during that time). No cookies, cakes, pies, candies are worth that!!!

So, that brings me to today’s oldie but goodie repeat recipe. When faced with that crazy cookie craving, I went to the kitchen to see what I had to suppress the craving. I noticed a jar of peanut butter in my fridge & my mind went straight to PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES! I was literally thrilled to realize that I had all ingredients necessary for the cookies & that these cookies would be ready to eat in about 15 minutes. When cooled, these cookies have that wonderful crunchy cookie texture that I was craving. I whipped up a batch & within minutes I was no longer craving cookies. AND, because these cookies are 100% protein, they are super filling!

I know I’ve posted it before, but this oldie but goodie deserves a repeat performance (especially this time of year)! Enjoy!!! 😀

Low Carb Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup natural peanut butter (this is important–no added sugar in the natural stuff)
  • 1 cup Splenda
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 egg

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 & spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Mix all ingredients together (I use my hands for this process–it’s messy, but works fantastically).
    ***It is VERY IMPORTANT to make sure the ingredients are well incorporated & have formed into a ‘workable’ dough. If everything seems too watery/gooey, the dough isn’t mixed well enough. I probably mix the ingredients with my hands for at least one minute before the dough is well-formed.***
  3. Roll pieces of dough into balls & place on the cookie sheet (if you prefer smaller cookies, you can get about 20 balls from the dough–if you like larger cookies, you’ll get around 15).
  4. Press each peanut butter ball gently with a fork (cross-cross for a lovely traditional peanut butter cookie look).
  5. Bake for 10 minutes.
  6. Gently remove from baking sheet–because they have no flour, they are fragile, especially when warm.

479868_10151543161813142_1165930961_n

Leave a Reply

