Cheers To The Best Year Yet!

Ultimately I believe life is what you make of it. If you make a habit of always believing the worst will happen, you’ll probably end up living a life defined by insecurity, unhappiness, suspicion, sadness & tragedy. However, the upside to always believing the worst will inevitably happen means you won’t be disappointed when the worst happens, because you’ve expected it all along.

I, however, have been the wide-eyed optimist most of my life; always believing things will work out for good & good ultimately conquers all, always looking for beauty among ashes, and always believing every dark cloud has a silver lining. Many events of 2013 shook my world to its very core & challenged every belief I’ve ever held. The idiom, “When it rains it pours,” has pretty much defined 2013 for me. This year has been characterized by an unrelenting barrage of extremely high ‘highs’ immediately followed by extremely low ‘lows’; and, in every instance, each ‘high’ was negated by a ‘low’. I have had moments over this past year when I found myself wanting to yield to the idea that the worst will always happen & maybe good doesn’t always prevail. I’ve had moments where wallowing in sorrow & self-pity seemed like the best idea. Thankfully, those moments were just moments & not a permanent state of mind.

As 2013 comes to a close, I’m not making resolutions to make 2014 better (mainly because resolutions made on January 1 are typically broken and forgotten by February 1). Because I believe life is ultimately what you make of it, I choose to believe 2014 will not only be better than 2013, but 2014 will be the BEST YEAR YET for my family & me. I don’t claim that 2014 will be without its own unfortunate circumstances or heartaches (although I really, really HOPE & PRAY they’re not as plentiful or significant as those in 2013), but I choose to believe gray clouds really do have silver linings & good ultimately conquers all (even when it feels like the opposite is true). Why do I choose to believe this instead of succumbing to the idea that the worst will always inevitably happen (especially given the events of 2013)? It’s Simple. Jeremiah 29:11 says, “’For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”’ What better promise for a hopeful future could I ask for? Oh, and (if you’re wondering) in the end, Good WILL conquer all.

Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

