My New Favorite App

A few weeks ago I decided I wanted to begin keeping a food journal so I could keep an accurate daily account of my total carb intake. I try to limit my carbs to 30 grams per day & need to know, without a doubt, that I’m staying around 30 grams. After deciding to keep a journal, I thought about the best way to actually keep the journal: pen & paper or electronic. I have several beautiful blank journals resting in my desk drawer & I toyed with the idea of using one of them, but I’m really not much of a pen & paper kind of gal. Next, I considered keeping my journal as a Word document on my laptop; however I quickly decided against that option because it would only be accessible on my laptop & I don’t always like working on my laptop (it’s just too much like WORK & I needed my food journal to be a meaningful, enjoyable experience for me if it was going to work). So, I decided to look for an iPhone app; I have no idea why I didn’t think of this option first (after all, my entire life is on my phone).

iPhone app search = SUCCESSFUL! After a quick search of the App Store, I came across MealLogger. After reading the preview info, I decided to download the free MealLogger app & give it a whirl. The app allows you not only to write a description of your food, but also allows photos of your meals (you can either upload photos from your camera roll or take a photo directly from the app). You can also personalize the app to meet your dietary needs; it can be set to count carbs, calories, and/or protein (mine is set for carbs only). The app can be used as an exercise journal as well, and you can even integrate FitBit or RunKeeper (if you use them). You can also track your weight, hours of sleep, & steps taken each day. MealLogger also includes the option to join groups (if you choose) for support. When you’re a member of a group, you can see the pictures/descriptions of group members’ meal posts. Also, you can ‘like’ & comment on the posts of other group members. I’ve joined 2 groups: Carb-o-nauts & Low Carb Zone. If you would like a physician and/or dietician to review your MealLogger info, you can also sign up for that service (I think there is a fee associated with the professional assistance option). So far, I’m loving MealLogger & I highly recommend it if you’re interested in food/activity journaling.

Below, I added a few screenshots from my MealLogger app:

1510401_10152153652178142_1772548307_nHere you can see the MealLogger app.

1521553_10152153655618142_2015330524_n
This shot shows my profile page displaying my meals & carb count.

1558511_10152150835658142_273475216_n
This is a shot of the options screen.

1509294_10152150834293142_1227219031_n
This is the daily food/exercise summary screen.

549212_10152150836573142_1093328399_n
Here you see the weekly summary.

1505041_10152150835913142_217271633_n
This shot show the group options.

The MealLogger app is so very easy to use & it literally only takes seconds to log your meal info. If you’re interested in keeping your own food journal, I highly recommend checking out MealLogger; I think you’ll enjoy it. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

