Some of My Favorite Things

I can’t believe the month of December passed without a blog post; how did that happen? I guess I know how that happened…December 2013 was a very busy month at our house. It seemed we had (1) somewhere to go, (2) folks visiting our house & (3) another gathering to prepare for all month long. I was busy from Thanksgiving Day until New Year’s Day. Anywho, now that life has slowed down a bit for us, I plan to dedicate more time to this fabulous blog. πŸ˜€

I thought I’d take some time this month to talk about some of my favorite things; some directly related to low carb eating & some not. Today’s favorite things have nothing whatsoever to do with my low carb lifestyle. Instead, I decided to share one of my (obsessive) passions: vintage Christmas decor. Since my house is still decorated for Christmas (and will remain decorated until next weekend), I’m going to share a few photos with you illustrating some of my favorite Christmas things.

Christmas is my absolute favorite time of year. I love everything about this season: the lights, the music, the warmth, the traditions, the togetherness, the memories, everything. If it was socially acceptable, my house would be decorated for Christmas year-round (although I would desperately miss decorating for spring, summer, & fall–it’s an obsession). I used to decorate for Christmas the first weekend in November since my hubby & I always spent the week of Thanksgiving in Indiana visiting his family; however, now that we stay home for Thanksgiving, we’ve started a new family Christmas tradition: decorating for Christmas the weekend after Thanksgiving. This year we kicked off our Christmas season early on Black Friday morning with a lovely low carb breakfast casserole & fruit salad before diving head first into the first of many plastic storage totes filled with our family’s Christmas treasures. By Monday evening, our home was transformed into our own personal little Christmas wonderland.

So, without further ado, here’s a little glimpse of our Christmas home:

And it all began with breakfast & opening that first storage tote:
Fotor010411045

Unpacking our tacky & unique little treasures:
Fotor010405720

I ❀ vintage:
Fotor010410431

It really is the most wonderful time of the year:
Fotor010405939

More favorites:
Fotor010410048

If only I could see this all year long:
Fotor010405447

So much comfort & joy:
Fotor010410821

Fotor01041073

Santa finally arrived:
Fotor010410853

Our family wishes you & your family a very happy & healthy new year. Here’s to making 2014 the best one yet!!! πŸ˜€ ❀

1476411_10152111873518142_802880976_n

Leave a Reply

