Cheeseburgers & Fries (OH MY)!

Like most of the United States, the ‘Polar Vortex’ has had its grip on our little corner of Tennessee. We got a bit of snow (maybe an inch) at our house & it looks lovely outside. Normally on cold, snowy days, I’m inspired to spend the day in the kitchen creating a hearty soup or stew, but today all I could think about was cheeseburgers & fries (no I don’t have spring fever–not yet–I LOVE winter & I’m ready for a GOOD snow 🙂 ).

So, this evening we enjoyed juicy cheeseburgers & crispy fries for dinner (it might be 5 degrees outside, but it’s warm & yummy inside our house 🙂 ).  Cheeseburgers are great for those of us living a low carb lifestyle; without the bun, they contain minimal carbs (depending on your toppings of choice). This evening, I stuck with traditional cheeseburger ingredients: lettuce, tomatoes, onions, pickle chips, mayonnaise & mustard.

The fries, however, can be a bit more tricky for those of us limiting our carb intake. Traditional fries (made from Idaho potatoes) carry quite a hefty carb count–around 50 grams per serving–and that’s just too many carbs for those of us watching our carbs. So, when I have a craving for fries, I opt for sweet potatoes. A small sweet potato contains about 24 grams of carbs. I would not recommend eating a sweet potato–even a small one–more than once a week (especially if you’re like me & strive to keep your daily carb count around 30 grams per day). On days I’m planning to eat a sweet potato, I ensure the other foods I eat throughout the day are virtually carb free.

Anyway, I have to admit that today’s cold, snowy January menu was so very satisfying. Below you’ll find how I made my sweet potato fries & I totally recommend them…especially when you have a craving for fries! 😀

Sweet Potato Fries

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 small sweet potato per person
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • Ground black pepper to taste

HOW TO:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  3. Wash & dry sweet potatoes well.
  4. Quarter sweet potatoes.
  5. Slice quarters into desired size.
  6. Place the butter in a larger microwave-safe bowl & melt butter.
  7. Place sliced sweet potatoes into the bowl of melted butter with salt & pepper & toss well (until all slices of sweet potato are coated).
  8. Place sweet potatoes in a single layer on the baking sheet (make sure no slices overlap).
  9. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Stir the sweet potato fries at around the 15 minute mark.
  10. Enjoy! :D.

 1530444_10152166275343142_538969728_n
Sweet Potato Fries

1525687_10152166275513142_2097760730_n
Sweet Potato Fries & ‘Bun-less’ Cheeseburger 😀

2 thoughts on “Cheeseburgers & Fries (OH MY)!

Leave a Reply

