Welcome Home

Hi, Friends! I realize I didn’t post a final beach vacation entry, but I have a really good explanation for that…

My hubby & I had the brakes (and all that goes with them) changed on our car about a month ago & had the typical ‘before trip’ maintenance completed on our car the week prior to vacation. Our car was in tip top traveling shape (or so we thought). While at Myrtle Beach, the right front tire began smoking & smelled like burning rubber. So, long story short, we spent our last day of vacation at Myrtle Beach Meineke instead of the beach & had the brakes (and all accompanying parts) replaced AGAIN. After spending 7 hours (and the rest of our vacation budget, and then some) at Meikeke, the hubby was ready to head home instead of waiting until the following day–so that’s just what we did. We made a quick pitstop at Wendy’s for dinner & I ate a bunless cheeseburger & Diet Coke in the car–not even photo food journal worthy.

Even though our last day at Myrtle Beach wasn’t spent as we expected, I would like to give a HUGE shout out to the fellas at Myrtle Beach Meineke (located at 2531 Dick Pond Rd., Myrtle Beach, South Carolina)–THEY WERE WONDERFUL! They were very curteous & hospitable; they even allowed us to bring our lil Chihuahua inside with us to wait while the car was undergoing service. They were clearly dedicated to making sure we didn’t leave there until our car was safe to travel &  in perfect condition & I appreciate their attention to detail & thoroughness. If you’re ever in the Myrtle Beach area & need car service, I definitely recommend paying Meineke a visit!

Charlie & me chillin' at Meineke :)

Charlie & me chillin’ at Meineke 🙂

As much as we love vacation, it’s always such a wonderful feeling to be back home. I love our home; it’s a truly our respite in a world gone insane & a place of unconditional, never-ending, crazy, nonsensical love. The physical structure of our home is so special to me because, as many of you know, it belonged to my grandparents & has always been one of my favorite places on earth & living in this house is truly a dream come true for me as literally every inch of this place is full of sweet memories. However, when I think of home, more than the physical structure comes to mind. I love decorating our home, but not even the decor makes our home. It makes it comfortable for us & allows us to personalize our living space to reflect our tastes and preferences, but decor doesn’t define that sense of home. Home is a state of mind and not necessarily a physical structure; a home is created by the inhabitants of that structure.

Our home sweet home

Our home sweet home

Our home is full of love, acceptance, safety, comfort, laughter, forgiveness and peace. Terry & I have made it a priority to establish a home built on these characteristics because  the foundation of our faith is tethered to the promises of Christ.

As Christians committed to establishing a home built on Christ, we’ve hoped & prayed to increase our family by 10 fingers & 10 toes (or 20, or even 30 of each). If you’ve followed this blog, you’ve read a little of our struggle with miscarriage & conception over the past year & a half. I’ve refrained from divulging too much information here because I worried that I would (1.) sound like a whiner (and let’s be honest, no one likes a whiner) and (2.) make you, the reader, uncomfortable. So, in an attempt to avoid such things, I’ve been pretty quiet about our infertility fertility situation. Recently, however, I’ve been reminded that God calls us to be bold & fearless in our faith.

I’ve decided that I’m finished being timid & quiet about this situation. I fully expect that the Lord will give my husband & I the desires of our heart & fill our home with our very own child, in His time. In the meantime, I will continue to make healthy choices for myself in preparation for 9 months of pregnancy & a healthy delivery, & my husband & I will boldly praise the name of the Lord as we are confident in His faithfulness.

Y’all, our little blessing(s) is(are) coming! We’re diligently preparing for this sweet, sweet homecoming & we can’t wait for the day when we can say to our little one(s), “Welcome Home!”

4 thoughts on “Welcome Home

    • Hi, Ayat!

      Thank you so very much for the book recommendation! Over the past year, I tried fertility meds & I decided I just can’t do that anymore; I don’t tolerate hormones well. I will definitely purchase this book as I am convinced my hormones can be regulated naturally. Thank you so very much for your positivity & encouragement; I’m so glad our paths crossed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

