The Quintessential Deviled Egg

Growing up in the south taught me the two things: (1.) the church covered-dish supper is truly a sight to behold–the good food is neverending–and (2.) the centerpiece of the covered-dish supper is the deviled egg (& fried chicken, but today’s all about the egg πŸ™‚ ).

The covered-dish supper

The covered-dish supper

I think almost every cook in our church has their own unique take on deviled eggs & they LOVE sharing them; they include everything from sweet pickle relish, chopped dill pickle, sugar, hot sauce, minced garlic, diced Vidalia onions, jalapenos, etc., etc., etc.

forrest-gump

Gourmet deviled eggs are also popular options; fillings include lobster, shrimp, crab and the like. While each deviled egg concoction is special in its own way, my tastes prefer a more basic, YET awesome egg. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to turn down a lobster mousse stuffed egg, however my go-to deviled egg recipe is a bit more simplistic.

I have the ingredients necessary to create deviled eggs almost 100% of the time — I LOVE when I don’t have to purchase something special for a recipe. I make deviled eggs about once a week, most of the time alongside dinner. Today, however, deviled eggs & deviled eggs alone were my lunch (and they were oh-so-good). πŸ™‚

So, without further ado, let’s get down to the eggs… πŸ™‚

Deviled Eggs

INGREDIENTS:

  • 6-8 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon mayonnaise (make sure it contains no sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon yellow mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon parsley
  • Sprinkle of HOT paprika (you may use sweet paprika if you don’t like the heat)
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Whole green olives stuffed with pimentos (one per egg slice)
Eggs

Eggs

Mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar & olives

Mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar & olives

Spices

Spices

HOW-TO:

  1. Boil eggs for about 12 minutes.
  2. Peel eggs, cut lengthwise, & remove yolks (place in a separate bowl).IMG_7519
  3. Mash yolks well with a fork. Combine mayonnaise, mustard, & spices with the yolks — mix well (taste at this point, you may prefer to add more mayo or mustard).IMG_7520IMG_7522
  4. After yolk mixture is well combined, spoon into a sandwich sized Ziplock bag (I use a measuring cup to help me with this step).IMG_7525
  5. Cut the tip off of the Ziplock bag & pipe yolk mixture into egg slices (just like a pastry bag).IMG_7526IMG_7557
  6. Add an olive to the center of each egg & sprinkle with paprikaIMG_7529

So simple, yet soooooooooooooo devilishly delicious πŸ˜‰ !!! I hope you enjoy this covered-dish specialty as much as I do!

Have a wonderful week!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Quintessential Deviled Egg

  1. I have a trick to up the protein of deviled eggs. Use half your mayo and add cottage cheese. I DO NOT like cottage cheese but its great in deviled eggs. It makes them very creamy. Try it and I promise you will like it.!

Leave a Reply

