About a Ragamuffin

This post is going to be short, sweet & to the point (I hope 😉 )–I have a movie recommendation to share with you. This past weekend, I finally watched Ragamuffin: The True Story of Rich MullinsFor those of you not familiar with the movie, here’s the trailer:

For those not familiar with Rich Mullins…

“He was a prophet and a poet and a beggar, more comfortable with the homeless than the wealthy, more in love with Jesus than religion, more interested in the music than the song. He felt too much, and held too much. He searched desperately his whole life for a way to belong down here, but he never did. He was just passing through.” ~Ragamuffinthemovie.com

I was introduced to the work of Rich Mullins during the 1990’s while I was working on my undergraduate degree at Milligan College. I was familiar with a couple of his more mainstream Christian songs (Awesome God, Sing Your Praise to the Lord, & Sometimes by Step) from church camp, worship services & weekly college chapel services, but that was really all I knew of him, until one of my best friends loaned me his copies of The World as Best as I Remember It Volume 1 and The World as Best as I Remember It Volume 2 (if I remember correctly, he actually bought me copies of those albums so he could get his back–they’re that good).  The lyrics of these songs resonated deeply with me as this was the first time I had heard such honesty & transparency about what it truly meant to follow Christ–it’s about love. The heart of Christianity is not about a set of unattainable standards, it’s not the number of church committees we head or the number of classes we teach, & it’s definitely NOT about judging others; the heart of the Christian faith is love.

Unfortunately, I never had the opportunity to see Rich Mullins in concert. He was scheduled to perform at my college in November of 1997, but was killed in a car crash in September of that year–I still have my unused tickets & a concert flier. His music & message continues to be a powerful inspiration in my life & in the lives of so many others — what an incredible legacy!

Whether you’ve heard of Rich Mullins or not, Ragamuffin: The True Story of Rich Mullins is a must-see.

I leave you with one of my favorite Rich Mullins songs (I have MANY, MANY favorites):

2 thoughts on “About a Ragamuffin

Leave a Reply

